top of page

Simple Elegance - Shimmer and Gold Jewelry Designs

When we were brainstorming February’s theme, we decided to go with “Treat Yourself” (in the meantime it has trended towards a Valentine’s Day motif). What better way to treat yourself than to receive a beautiful piece of jewelry? We started searching through our local network and came across Chilliwack designer Shimmer and Gold Jewelry Designs. We fell in love with her vintage inspired pieces with a modern flair and put in an order almost immediately! These lovely pieces have been in our possession for almost 2 months and it took all our willpower not to steal them for ourselves (we did each pick one though!) We had the pleasure of learning more about Sarah, the woman behind the brand, when we asked her to participate in our featured artisan blog series.

Locally Obsessed: What services/products do you offer?

Shimmer and Gold: Gold plated jewelry designs

LO: When did you start your company, what gave you the idea, what do you love most about it?

S&G: I have always loved jewelry since I was a little girl. Anything that sparkled always caught my eye! In my early 20’s I began experimenting with making jewelry for myself, family and friends. I worked mostly with beads, designing earrings, necklaces and bracelets. I posted pictures of some of my designs online and received a lot of compliments. I began having jewelry parties at my home or for friends and also had the opportunity to sell my designs in a small shop in Agassiz, BC.

A few years later, I received a delicate gold filled necklace and earrings set for my birthday, which I loved. I started looking for more gold jewelry to add to my ever growing collection! I found a few designs that I liked at local shops, but not exactly what I was looking for. I began to think, “How hard can it be to design something like this?” And thus the idea of “Shimmer and Gold Jewelry Designs“ was born

LO: Where do you see your business in the next year? 5 years? 10 years?

S&G: In the next five to ten years I hope to have a self sustaining small shop and sell my jewelry to local businesses in the Lower Mainland.

LO: Tell us a little bit about yourself!

S&G: My name is Sarah. I am in my mid 20’s and have lived in Chilliwack for nearly my entire life. I love the Fraser Valley and wouldn’t mind living here the rest of my life! I love the great outdoors, and God’s creation is a huge inspiration for my jewelry designs. Hiking, kayaking and paddle boarding are some of my favourite outdoor activities. I also love reading old books, writing poetry and spending time with my Bernese Mountain Dog pup, Breeze!

LO: What do you love about living in Chilliwack?

S&G: The best things about Chilliwack are all the beautiful mountains, lakes and rivers that surround the area! And the people here are so kind!

LO: What kind of involvement do you have in the community?

S&G: I have been actively involved in volunteering at my church for the past 18 years. I have also had the privilege of getting to know many wonderful people through working part time at a local dentist office and at a bistro, which keeps me busy!!

LO: Anything to add?

S&G: I’m excited to see what the future holds for my small business!

We are excited to see what the future holds for this business as well! We hope that you love your unique piece of jewelry, the best part about including these pieces is that no two were alike, everyone got something unique!

bottom of page