top of page

Giving Back with Studio B


Last month we were lucky enough to share a fantastic give-away from Studio B Yoga in Chilliwack! Our lucky winner received one month of unlimited classes, and our March Chilliwack bags had passes for a complimentary drop in class. I am a big fan of Studio B and love what they offer to our community.

We contacted, Crystal, the owner of the studio for a little Q&A and to be honest, we knew that Studio B was a big part of the Chilliwack community but until, our Q&A we had no idea how large and far reaching their impact was, we are so impressed and so excited to share a little more info about this amazing company!

LO: What services or products you offer?

SB: We offer a very diverse set of yoga, fitness classes and programs. Yoga ranges from prenatal and postpartum, toddler, kids, youth and teen girls to a variety of classes for beginner to experienced yogis, as well as a free community class Saturdays at noon. On weekends we host guest teachers, workshops, teacher trainings, and fundraising events or by donation classes. This winter we formed a Yoga Book Club, which provided donations that supported local non-profits, and we have offered a weekly class called Our Yoga for people living with MS for over a year. We also have a boutique and carry a variety of local or Canadian made and sourced products including yoga mats and props, malas, essential oils and resuable water bottles and coffee cups.

LO: When did you start your company, what gave you the idea to start, what you love the most about it?

SB: The idea to start Studio B was first sparked in December 2014. There was a demand for an urban studio in Chilliwack, and there were teachers that wished to offer yoga and pilates classes. I was seeking the right opportunity to become engaged in the community and create a business that could move in a social purpose fashion, act as a platform to give back and support those in the Fraser Valley, and where I could essentially volunteer my time while keeping a good work/life balance that allowed me to focus on my young family. All the stars aligned and I moved forward very quickly to incorporate a business and the doors were open on June 5th 2015 with a full schedule of classes and a brilliant team!

What I love most about Studio B is the passion and love that after almost 3 years of being open pours out from the team of teachers, administration, karma crew, clients, friends and family. From teachers supporting one another with programs and classes and offering by donation classes, to being known as a business that you can always count on for a silent auction donation to support. We are a space that supports inclusivity and offers classes for everyone and wants everyone to feel welcome. I love that our studio culture is so supportive and healthy and genuinely wish to help and inspire others. I feel so fortunate to be able to do something that I love and wish I could work 24 hrs a day on the business and truly enjoy, learn or embrace every experience.

LO: Where do you see your business in the next year? In the next five years? The next ten years?

SB: I envision Studio B consistently moving forward and maybe wandering down a wide path to allow for continued diversity so that we can work with the teachers’ passions and what the community requests.

LO: Tell us a little about yourself. Background, where you grew up, kids, spouse? Education , work experience (what did you do before this, do you have any schooling or experience that led you in this direction?)

I grew up in Hope BC, and have moved around BC as well as travelled extensively for work and for pleasure. The majority of my work was in service and tourism, and I very much value and respect the lessons and knowledge I gained over my career. My husband, Rob, is also from Hope, and we settled down in Chilliwack. In 2008 our son Bobby was born and 2011 came his little sister Isabella. When I was pregnant with my son I began to practice yoga 4-5 days a week to keep active and try something new. At that time there was only one studio in Chilliwack, and since then my yoga practice has fluctuated but I always enjoyed coming back to my mat. Once my kids were older and more independent, I found I was lacking something in my life, which is when the opportunity to create Studio B presented itself.

LO: What do you love about living in Chilliwack?

SB: My husband and I were very happy to settle near his Rosedale office, as well as close to friends and family. I love the mountains, rivers and lakes, hiking trails, growing small business options and accessibility to the coast and interior. We are really so lucky to live in such a beautiful place that continues to move forward with such amazing and community focused people. I could really go on forever about everything that is great about this town and all the people and companies that make it better with their passion.

LO: What kind of involvement do you have in the community (Chilliwack) charities, markets, collabs etc.

SB: Where do I start on this one! Studio B runs as a social purpose business with a very strong focus on the community. Essentially, everything goes back into running the business and I volunteer my time at the studio and always will. Personally I volunteer with the Chilliwack Chamber of Commerce BEA Committee and a few of their sub-committees and my husband serves with the Mt. Cheam Rotary Club and the CEPCO Board. As a family we support a lot of local not for profits and charities via fundraising events, live and silent auctions and in-kind donations. Studio B partnered with CRJYAA and developed a free 8 week series for youth called Be Chill; we are opening pre-registration for our 6th round soon. The studio supports up to 5 scholarships to Girlvana Yoga, a yoga program for teen girls; we use studio profit to fund those spots. The teaching group is always keen to organize small fundraising classes and volunteer their time to help initiatives such as: Wilma’s Transition House, Starfish Pack Program, Ann Davis Transition Society, Chilliwack Community Services and the Chilliwack Cultural Centre.

LO: Anything to add?

SB: Please know that supporting the studio is supporting the community, people, teachers, jobs, youth, and other organizations. We wouldn’t be able to keep moving forward without your support and appreciate it. Follow us on FB Studio B Yoga and More or IG @yogastudiob hope to see all of your beautiful faces soon!

What an amazing company! We are so happy to have collaborated with them and we wish them all the best in their future endeavours! I hope everyone takes advantage of their drop-in passes!


bottom of page